La Taqueria: Going Crazy Over Tacos!

Happy almost end of exams! I apologize for the lack of posts this month, but that’s exam season for you. I’m lucky enough to be finished already, but best of luck to all of those still fighting. It’s no surprise here that I like tacos but it seems like recently I’ve gotten a craze over Mexican food in general. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m no taco connoisseur and I sure as hell don’t pretend that I know what authentic Mexican food tastes like. All I can say is that I enjoy all the tastes and the flavours, especially the chipotle sauces!

It was VivienAvenue‘s last day in Vancouver before leaving for Taiwan for a GCDP internship through AIESEC UBC, so we thought we would have a little food date  before she left :) VivienAvenue and I had also just finished final exams, so a celebration was in order. PerfectPitch and AwkwardTurtle still had another exam left, but YOLO :D We had originally planned to go to Fairmont Hotel for their high tea, along with PerfectPitch, but when we called to reserve a table, they were already booked full. In a last minute decision, I decided we go to La Taqueria on Cambie after realizing that Phnom Penh would probably be packed full at 6:30pm on a Saturday night.

Let’s just say that heading out on 420, the smell of weed was everywhere and stoners walking out and about, it was all incredibly interesting and entertaining. La Taqueria is a little tiny eat-in or take-out shop located within a 2 minute walk from the Broadway-City Hall station on the Canada Line. The place had a lot of spunk, humour, and attitude, all the makings of an awesome food shop.

I ordered a soda to start while waiting for VivienAvenue to arrive.

Photo 2013-04-20 7 04 35 PM

I’ve read alot about the Mexican Jarritos Sodas ($2.00) so I figured I’d get one. I got the Mandarin flavoured one. It was just like orange pop… nothing special, and super sweet. I’d gladly pass next time for water.

I ordered a total of 4 tacos: de Cachete (braised beef cheeks), de Lengua (braised beef tongue), Al Pastor (pork marinated in achiote chilli and pineapple), and Pescado (grilled seasonal fish with pico de gallo).

Photo 2013-04-20 7 15 33 PM

Meat tacos are $2.50 each or $9.50 for 4, but veggie tacos go for cheaper. Each taco is made with two fragrant corn tortillas topped with the fillings with a slice of lime on the side. I know some people prefer their hard and crunchy taco shells, but I love my soft tacos. The extra tortilla makes the taco easier to hold as well because since the oil from all the delicious meat fillings will soak through the first one, you won’t have to touch it with the second tortilla.

Although they call your name for every order, I think they may have gotten the wrong order for me since the tacos were completely different from what I ordered. I can’t really tell between the meat tacos, but I’m pretty sure I didn’t get my fish taco, which was a bummer. Every taco I ate was delicious though. A added a dab of chipotle sauce and squeeze some lime juice on top of every taco. The meats were juicy and packed with flavour, each taco a joy to devour.

Photo 2013-04-20 7 18 11 PM

Photo 2013-04-20 7 18 07 PM

Photo 2013-04-20 7 18 03 PM

Photo 2013-04-20 7 18 14 PM

We headed over to Menchies on cambie for dessert afterwards, only a few minutes walk. I love frozen yogurt but I swear the toppings will be the end of me, I can’t get enough of my toppings! I got a swirl of cheesecake frozen yogurt with a dabble of blueberry, topped with a million toppings. Needless to say it was delicious.

Photo 2013-04-20 7 55 30 PM

Menchies is also having a contest where you can win free frozen yogurt for an entire year! Click here for more information.

Overall, the tacos from La Taqueria were absolutely delicious and I can honestly say I’m addicted, I can’t wait for my next visit! I’d love to try more tacos from them and hopefully this time I’ll get my Pescado =P

La Taqueria on Urbanspoon

Menchie's Frozen Yogurt on Urbanspoon

Thanks for reading,

Jess

6 thoughts on “La Taqueria: Going Crazy Over Tacos!

  1. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking
    back frequently!

  2. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put
    in penning this site. I’m hoping to see the same high-grade content by you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own blog now ;)

Leave a Reply

